Lists Are My Friend

As I mentioned before, I’m going away to college in the fall, and I’m a little excited, to say the least. Okay, I’m a lot excited. As soon as I decided to transfer, I started making lists of all the things I’d need for my dorm. As I searched the internet, I discovered many lists all claiming the be the “Ultimate Dorm Packing List.” Some of them were full of stupid things like french presses and multiple woks. Why do these people expect college students to be gourmet cooks? Honestly, I’ll probably end up eating something microwaveable 9 times out of 10. So I put together my own list.

It’s full of everything I think I’ll need to survive my first year of college. Obviously, there are things I’ll forget, and there are items on the list that other people will find unnecessary, but hopefully it helps you compile your own list. I’ve left plenty of room at the end of the list so that you can add your own items as you go. There’s a printable document at the bottom of the post. Enjoy your packing process!

What dorm essentials are you planning to take to college?

Bedding Bought It Packed it
2 sets of sheets (twin xl)
2 feather pillows
Comforter
Throw pillows
Mattress pad/foam topper
Throw blanket
Sleeping bag
Extra blanket
Fan
Bedside Caddy
Storage/Organization
Under-bed
Hangers
Hooks
Shower rings
Bins/drawers
Plastic Baggies
Electronics
Phone & Charger
Laptop, Charger, & Extension
Ethernet Cables
Extension Cord
DVD Drive & Cord
DVDs
Headphones (2 pairs)
Speaker & Cord
Desk/School Supplies
Lamp
Book Bag
Printer Paper
Stapler & Staples
Notebooks
Binders
Index Cards
Tape
Scissors
Hole Puncher
Post-its
Pencils
Pens
Highlighters
Writing Utensil Holder
Planner
Ruler
Paper Clips
Dividers
Notebook Paper
Flashdrives
Bath/Shower
Nail Clippers
Towels
Wash Cloths
Shower Caddy
Shampoo
Conditioner
Face Wash
Soap
Straightener
Blow Dryer
Curling Iron
Heat Spray
Hair Spray
Bath Mat *
Razors
Tooth Brush and Holder
Toothpaste
Dental Floss
Deodorant
Tweezers
Perfume
Q-tips
Drawers w/ Makeup
Shower Shoes
Air Freshener
Brush & Comb
Glasses
Contacts, Case, & Solution
Hair Ties & Clips
Cleaning Supplies
Broom and Dust Pan *
Sponge
Dish Soap
Dish Towels
Trash Bags
Vacuum *
Sanitizing Wipes
Toilet Brush *
Trash Can*
Laundry
Detergent
Hamper
Bleach
Dryer Sheets
Stain Remover
Lint Roller
Food
Plates, Bowls, Cups
Coffee Mugs
Water Bottles
Coffee
Silverware
Water Pitcher
Coffee Maker
Bubba
Storage Containers
Chip Clips
Measuring Cups and Spoons
Knife
Can Opener
Pot and Pan*
Spatula*
Wooden Spoons*
Ladle*
Water Bottles
Funnel*
Strainer*
Pot Holders*
Decorating
Sticky Tack
Command Hooks
Off Brand Hooks
White Board (Markers, Magnets, etc.)
Wreath
Other Stuff to Hang
Chair/Storage
Mirror
Other Stuff
Sewing Kit
Crochet Needles
First-Aid Kit
Safety Pins
Vitamins
Prescription Medicine
Birth Control
Advil
Batteries
Umbrella
Tap Lights
Mace *
Flashlight
WALLET
KEYS
Credit Cards
Driver’s License
Health Insurance Card
Bracelet, Necklace, Wrist Band, etc.
Drawer Organizer
Nail Polish & Remover
TUMS
Melatonin
Benadryl
Clothes

IF YOU WANT TO PRINT THIS OUT, MODIFY IT, OR JUST DOWNLOAD IT ONTO YOUR COMPUTER, FEEL FREE!

Printable, Editable Checklist

Leave a Reply

