30-Day Writing Challenge (Day Two)

30 day writing challenge blog

It has been entirely too long since I’ve worked on this supposedly-thirty-day challenge. Oops. I’ve had a lot going on and haven’t felt like getting too personal, quite honestly. I’ve been avoiding responsibility in the most fun ways: binge-watching Supernatural (OMG Sammy is totally my baby I love him so much), finally reading some of the books on my shelf, getting ready for school, and tackling some of my Pinterest board (check out my Mother’s Day project and these Origami hearts). But now I’m going to tackle this. And hopefully I’ll keep up this blog a little better; my goal is to post at least once per week until school starts back, then we’ll see.

So onto the challenge!

#2 asks for my earliest memory.

My earliest memories are kind of odd. I have flashes of noise, colors, smells… things my mind couldn’t quite form into thoughts at the time. So I guess my first real memory, the first one with a story, is actually a really weird dream.

I had the dream when I was about three and in it I was wearing a diaper and standing in a crib and crying. Because I was crying in the middle of the night, my mother became very angry with me and started yelling at me.

At this point, I woke up to find my mother actually standing beside my bed and asking why I was crying. I can very vividly recall sobbing “You were spanking me.” I can also perfectly picture the look of confusion on my mother’s face.

I’m not sure what this means. Are any of you dream analysts? What would Freud say? What’s your first memory?

Leave a Reply

