Elephants!

(The finished product is at the bottom of the post!)

I love elephants, and I love being crafty, so I decided to combine two of my greatest loves and learn something new all at once. I bought a cross stitch kit from Hobby Lobby (I can’t find the exact kit I used online, but they have tons, and you could easily find one you liked), and I set to work… after leaving it my junk drawer for several weeks.

Cross stitch was something that looked interesting but that I’d never tried, so I didn’t want to tackle anything too huge (my finished product is about 2″x2″). I found it quite relaxing, and now I’m looking into Stitching Out Stigma, a really amazing organization, as well as just fun little projects. My goal is to stitch at least one row per day. I like that I can take my cross stitching nearly everywhere because it’s fairly small. Also, I don’t have to keep up with a huge ball of yarn!

What are your thoughts on cross stitch? Have you started (or finished) any new projects lately?

Here’s my first cross stitch attempt:

The original pattern wanted me to put ugly spots all over the poor elephant, so I modified it a bit.

The original pattern wanted me to put ugly spots all over the poor elephant, so I modified it a bit.

Leave a Reply

